First forage walk for a while

On Monday I decided it was time I went out for a foraging walk. I hadn’t been on one for quite a while due to various reasons. It was a nice day, weatherwise so that made it even better.

I dusted off my walking boots and fleece and put my waterproof jacket and a few bags in my rucksack and off I went.

I went out with the intention of getting some fungi and anything else was going to be a bonus. As it turned out I found no fungi (none that were edible, that is) but did get a good haul of crabapples and some rosehips and hawthorns.

I have already made a sauce with the hawthorn berries. A bit like Chinese hoisin sauce, it’s well worth the effort it took to make it. Rich and fruity, with just a hint of star anise. I’m looking forward to using it in my next Chinese recipe.

I used this recipe and added 3 pieces of star anise to the mixture during the second boiling and then took it out prior to bottling.

http://www.greatbritishchefs.com/recipes/hawthorn-berry-recipes-foraging

The crabapples are in the process of being strained, after being cooked. I am going to use the juice for jelly and the pulp will be used to make crabapple cheese. The rosehips have gone in the freezer for the time being.

Leave a comment